HAL Sends Flagship ms Rotterdam to Alaska in 2010

Yipes, Whale_Breaching-0066_10589[1] cruise lines are already promoting Alaska voyages and we’re not even into the new year.  I’ve done about a dozen cruises to our last frontier and recommend it to everyone. And I do mean “all.”

The first time we sailed to Alaska, my husband Richard and I and a good friend (who had his own cabin) it was during what I refer to as my “bimbo with brains” day, today I might say my Sarah Palin time, although I don’t think I was ever that…… (you fill in the blank). The ship was nice but old and none of the bells and whistles of today’s vessels. In fact we only had port holes, today I won’t board a ship unless I have a guaranteed balcony.

Anyhow, I just partied on for 10 days oblivious to the fantastic scenery, flora, fauna, elk, tundra or basically anything off the ship. In fact Richard and our friend Bob got off the ship to explore the ports while I got massages and worked out. Then a little older and wiser I sailed again, this time on the maiden voyage of the super luxe Crystal Harmony and while the ship was first in class at the time and one of the most amazing luxury liners to ever sail the seas, I was able to concentrate on the scenery and shore excursions. Okay it wasn’t easy leaving the spa or hot tub.

Anyhow I discovered Alaska in all it’s glory and it is God’s country, pristine, amazingly beautiful. While it’s impossible to fill you in on all the ships heading north to Alaska next year, Holland American just announced that it’s flagship ms Rotterdam–complete with staterooms that sport balconies or what the company calls “lanais” will be making 18 cruises to the area from Seattle starting May 15-September 11. The voyages highlight the inside Passage and Hubbard Glacier in Yakutat Bay –North America’s largest tidewater glacier. According to a recent press release: Under Holland America’s $525-million Signature of Excellence program, the Rotterdam gains 39 new lanai staterooms, created by replacing existing stateroom windows (on Lower Promenade Deck 6) with lanai doors that open directly onto the walk-around promenade. The ship also adds 23 new spa staterooms, featuring a variety of enhanced spa amenities, on its Verandah Deck. All staterooms and bathrooms will receive complete new décor and furnishings. Public areas will host the Retreat, a resort pool feature; the Showroom at Sea, a glamorous nightclub; and Mix, a new concept with three separate bars: Martinis, Champagne and Spirits & Ales. Canaletto, Holland America Line’s popular and complimentary casual Italian restaurant, will also be added to the ship. Cruise-only fares start at US $649, per person, double occupancy, for a seven-day Alaskan Explorer cruise on the Rotterdam. 1-877-SAIL-HAL (1-877-724-5425) or visit http://www.hollandamerica.com. # # # our last frontier and recommend it to everyone. And I do mean “all.” The first time we sailed from Vancouver to Alaska, my husband Richard and I and a good friend (who had his own  cabin) it was during what I refer to as my “bimbo with brains” day, today I might say my Sarah Palin time, although I don’t think I was ever that…… (you fill in the blank). The ship was nice but old and none of the bells and whistles of today’s vessels. In fact we only had port holes, today I won’t board a ship unless I have a guaranteed balcony. Anyhow, I just partied on for 10 days oblivious to the fantastic scenery, flora, fauna, elk, tundra or basically anything off the ship. In fact Richard and our friend Bob got off the ship to explore the ports while I got massages and worked out. Then a little older and wiser I sailed again, this time on the maiden voyage of the super luxe Crystal Harmony and while the ship was first in class at the time and one of the most amazing luxury liners to ever sail the seas, I was able to concentrate on the scenery and shore excursions. Okay it wasn’t easy leaving the spa or hot tub. Anyhow I discovered Alaska in all it’s glory and it is God’s country, pristine, amazingly beautiful. While it’s impossible to fill you in on all the ships heading north to Alaska next year, Holland American just announced that it’s flagship ms Rotterdam–complete with staterooms that sport balconies or what the company calls “lanais” will be making 18 cruises to the area from Seattle starting May 15-September 11. The voyages highlight the inside Passage and Hubbard Glacier in Yakutat Bay –North America’s largest tidewater glacier. According to a recent press release: Under Holland America’s $525-million Signature of Excellence program, the Rotterdam gains 39 new lanai staterooms, created by replacing existing stateroom windows (on Lower Promenade Deck 6) with lanai doors that open directly onto the walk-around promenade. The ship also adds 23 new spa staterooms, featuring a variety of enhanced spa amenities, on its Verandah Deck. All staterooms and bathrooms will receive complete new décor and furnishings. Public areas will host the Retreat, a resort pool feature; the Showroom at Sea, a glamorous nightclub; and Mix, a new concept with three separate bars: Martinis, Champagne and Spirits & Ales. Canaletto, Holland America Line’s popular and complimentary casual Italian restaurant, will also be added to the ship. Cruise-only fares start at US $649, per person, double occupancy, for a seven-day Alaskan Explorer cruise on the Rotterdam. 1-877-SAIL-HAL (1-877-724-5425) or visit www.hollandamerica.com

Check out my other articles at: http://bit.ly/2P9nFf

About Patti Pietschmann

I'm Patti Covello Pietschmann, a travel diva and proud of it. I've been all over the world. I prefer luxury travel (penthouse suites, fine d
This entry was posted in cruise news and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

